

## Montgomery Historical Society and Members Receive Awards

October 30, 2015. Lutz and Elsie Saborowski of the Montgomery Historical Society were recognized by the Vermont Historical Society (VHS), and League of Local Historical Societies and Museums (LLHSM), with Lifetime Achievement Awards recently. Elsie and Lutz have served their Society and the community for over 25 years in the full gamut of events and programs. Their citation credits them with significantly enhancing the Montgomery Historical Society's community visibility, and advancing the study of local history which is a "remarkable legacy to Montgomery."

The Society also received an Award of Excellence for its recent preservation efforts on the Town's first church. This included a yearlong Capital Campaign which raised \$165,000, and the subsequent construction and preservation work which involved removal of stained glass and clear lancet windows, timber frame truss repairs, and work on the foundation. All of this culminated an eight year effort to study, plan, and execute high priority structural work on this community landmark. Board memberTim Chapin, who led the Capital Cmpaign and fundraising efforts, accepted the Award on behalf of the Society.

The awards were presented at the LLHSM Annual Meeting in Burlington by VHS Director and former Governor Jim Douglas on October 30<sup>th</sup>. These are the eleventh and twelfth LLHSM awards received by the Montgomery Historical Society and its members since 2007. The Society sponsors a number of programs and events throughout the year. More information can be found at montgomeryhistoricalsociety.org.

Photos follow below



2015 Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees Elsie and Lutz Saborowski with former Governor and Vermont Historical Society executive director James Douglas



Tim Chapin and Scott Perry accept Award of Excellence from former Governor and Vermont Historical Society Executive Director James Douglas.



Montgomery Historical Society members with former Governor and Vermont Historical Society Executive Director James Douglas. L to R Tim Chapin, Bill McGroarty, Elsie Saborowski, Scott Perry, Pat Farmer, Lutz Saborowski and Gov. Douglas